Guidebook: Mountaineering regions of Kyrgyzstan ,

Author: Vladimir Komissarov, Ph.D., President of Kyrgyz Alpine Club CONTENT Introduction 1. Geographic description of Tien-Shan and Pamir 2. Mountaineering regions of Kyrgyzstan А. Tien-Shan B. Pamir Alpine regions of Kyrgyzstan (detailed content) А. Tien-Shan 1. Central Tien-Shan 1) Glaciers: Southern and Northern Inylchek 2) Kaindy Glacier 3) Glaciers: Semenov and Mushketov 2. Terskei Ala-Too Range 1) Karakol and Djeti-Oguz Canyons 2) Turgen, Aksu, Altyn-Arashan and Chon-Kyzylsuu canyons 3) Juuku canyon 4) Western part of Terskey Ala-Too Range 3. Kyrgyz Range 1) Ala-Archa and Alamedin canyons 2) Sokuluk, Djilamysh and Issik-Ata canyons 4. Western Kokshal-Too Range 5. Ak-Shirak Range 6. Kuilu Range 7. Borkoldoy Range 8. At-Bashy Range 9. DjangartMore

Fergana Range Aug 2015

Fergana Range

The Fergana range is a long chain of mountains forming part of the Tien Shan range in Kyrgyzstan. It is 206 miles in length with an average height of 3800m. The south eastern end of the range contains the highest peaks and is heavily glaciated below the main watershed. The snow peaks in this area are alpine in scale with heights between 4200m – 4819m. This part of the range can be approached from the north via the town of Naryn and then by following the main road towards the Torugart Pass. The range can then be accessed with a 4 wheel drive vehicle from the wide valley that runsMore